Bishops’ House is the best preserved example of a timber framed house in the City of Sheffield, England. The building is located at the top of Meersbrook Park, which offers an excellent vantage point from which to look over the city. Built in 1554, the house was once a yeoman’s farm surrounded by fields. Today the building is an architectural treasure in Sheffield’s suburbs, offering a unique insight into the city’s history. Bishops’ House is Grade II* listed and has been open as a museum since 1976.
Since 2011 an entirely volunteer run charity, the Friends of Bishops’ House, have managed opening of the building on behalf of Sheffield City Council.
You can this website to help organise and complement a visit, but it stands in its own right as a historical resource.
Bishops’ House is also a registered wedding venue and has been a favourite destination for school visits since the building opened to the public.
Bishops’ House is open to the public at weekends and entrance is free!